Blog

Motorcycle maintenance apps for iPhone: 7 compared (2026)

Published

By · Updated

If you want an iPhone app built for motorcycles, four of them actually are: MotoLogger, MotoVault, Motorbike Service and Rydger. Drivvo, Simply Auto and Fuelly cover any vehicle and treat a bike like a small car. They work, but they don't know what a chain and sprocket kit is. Among the motorcycle apps, what separates them is whether they log the miles for you, whether they work out what each mile or kilometre costs you, and whether they give you a report to show a buyer when you sell.

One thing first: Rydger is ours. That's why the table only states what each app says on its App Store listing, and where the listing says nothing we write "not stated", which is not the same as "doesn't have it".

The table

AppBuilt for motorcyclesAutomatic mileageReminders by distance and dateCost per kmResale reportPrice (US App Store)
MotoLoggerYesNot statedYes, on paid plansNot stated (logs the cost of each service)PDF, on paid plansFree; plans from $4.99/month or $29.99/year
MotoVaultYes, catalogue of 12,000+ modelsRecords rides by GPS; doesn't say it updates the odometerYesYes, per mile or km, month and yearService history; PDF not mentionedFree; Pro from $5.99/month, lifetime from $119.99
Motorbike ServiceYesNot statedTells you when the next service is due, without saying whether by distance or dateNot statedNot statedFree
RydgerYesYes, on Pro (Beta, needs Shortcuts and Bluetooth or CarPlay)Yes, freeYes, on ProPDF, on ProFree; Pro at €0.99/month, €9.99/year or €49.99 lifetime
DrivvoNo, a motorcycle is one vehicle type among severalNot statedYesExpenses yes; cost per km not statedSends a copy of the history to the buyer; CSV and Excel on ProFree; subscriptions from $0.99/month
Simply AutoNo, a motorcycle is one vehicle type among severalGPS trip logging, aimed at deductible mileageYesYes, service cost per kmCSVFree; Platinum at $1.49/month or $29.99 one-off
FuellyNot statedNo; you enter the miles at each fill-upCustomisable reminders, without saying whether by distance or dateFuel and service spending; cost per km not statedCSV by emailFree; Premium at $0.99/month or $7.99/year

Prices are from the US App Store in dollars, except Rydger's, which are the euro prices. They vary by country.

What to check before you choose

Who logs the miles. Every distance-based reminder depends on the app's odometer being up to date. If you have to open the app after every ride, chances are you'll stop within a few weeks. There are three ways: type it in, photograph the dash, or let the app count it. Check which one each app offers and whether it's on the free plan.

The manufacturer's schedule. A motorcycle doesn't have a car's service intervals, and two motorcycles don't share theirs either. MotoLogger builds the schedule from a PDF manual you upload, using paid AI credits. Rydger shows your model's factory schedule read-only on the free plan and applies it with one tap on Pro. The car apps let you set reminders, but you choose the intervals.

The real cost. Knowing what you spend in a year is useful. Knowing what each kilometre costs you, with insurance, inspections, tyres and services, tells you whether the bike pays its way. To do the sum without installing anything, use the cost per km calculator.

The day you sell. A history with dates, mileage and receipts reassures a buyer. Check whether the app exports a PDF you can show, or only a CSV nobody will open.

What you pay in a year. Compare the plan you'd actually need, not the entry price. Several apps price by number of bikes or by credits.

App by app

MotoLogger. The strongest on paperwork: it scans registration documents, warns about recalls and tracks inspections such as the MOT and TÜV. Paid plans cover up to 3 or up to 10 bikes and come with a 7-day trial. The listing's language field says English, though the description says the app is also in Spanish and German, and the latest release notes add French.

MotoVault. Made for riders who want to keep their routes: it records distance, time, route and elevation, and exports GPX. It also runs on iPad and Mac. The listing is in English only.

Motorbike Service. Free and simple. It comes with a minor, intermediate and major service template with motorcycle parts (chain and sprockets, shaft drive oil, valves). The listing doesn't give a date for the latest version.

Rydger. Counts the kilometres for you on Pro (in Beta: it needs a Shortcut and your helmet's Bluetooth or CarPlay). The free plan has one bike, reminders by distance and date, expenses, a dash photo to log the odometer, CSV export, and handing the history to a buyer by QR code. It's iPhone only; the Android version is in development. No account. Your data is yours, we never sell it, and it moves with you to a new phone.

Drivvo. The best known of the car apps, in 68 languages, with fleet plans for businesses. If you have a car and a bike and want both in one place, it's the obvious pick. For the bike you'll miss motorcycle intervals and parts.

Simply Auto. Built around mileage for tax and work expenses. It calculates service cost per kilometre, which is unusual among car apps.

Fuelly. Started as a fuel economy log and still is one. The latest version on the listing is from June 2024.

How we compared them

We read each app's App Store listing on 20 October 2026: description, in-app purchases, compatibility and release notes. We haven't tested the third-party apps in depth, so we don't judge how well they work. If you build one of them and something is wrong or has changed, write to us from the support page and we'll fix it.

Sources

Reminders by date or distance, whichever comes first

Rydger tracks each job by months and kilometres together, so the ones that expire with time, like brake fluid, are not forgotten. Free, no account.

Download on theApp Store